Morning Song

A wise friend of mine was patiently listening to me bemoan the fact that I didn’t think I was hearing the Voice of God.  He very calmly pointed out that I am a worshiper.  I wasn’t sure where he was going with this seemingly change of subject, but as I respect him and know that God speaks through him, I went with it. 

“Yes, I’m a worshiper” and then he asked me a question, “Do you wake up with a song running through your head, or one that just stays with you throughout the day?”

“Most days, yeah.”

He suggested I start paying closer attention to those songs.  Keep a journal of them and then what goes on that day and see if there is any correlation.  He suggested that God may be using songs to speak words of encouragement or guidance that I might need for that day.

So I started January 1st.  My husband had gotten me a beautiful purple leather journal for Christmas.  While I love the journal, and I am now a blogger, I’ve never been one to sit down and write out what happened that day before going to bed.  But this seemed the perfect book to begin to journal my morning songs.  I don’t know why I didn’t think to come back and write a brief description of how that song was helpful for the day until this last week. But from now on I intend to do just that.

I may even post occasionally what song I had that day and how it was a help or direction or warning for the day.

It’s not always a “church” song.  One morning was an Enya love song, that night was date night with my husband.

Another morning was Areosmith, Living on the Edge, but that was before I started adding the note at the end of the day so I’m not sure what exactly happened that day.  However, in looking up the whole lyrics for that song, I did feel God speaking to me through them.  But, that’s a whole different blog post.

What about you, do you wake up with a song on your heart?  Have you even paid attention?  Maybe you should start, you never know when God is trying to get your attention.

1 Comment

Filed under Morning Song

One response to “Morning Song

  1. Appreciate it for this wonderful post, I am glad I noticed this internet site on yahoo.

Leave a Reply

