Lipstick On Your Collar

No this isn’t an April Fools joke.  I really did wake up with Lipstick On Your Collar running through my head.  What’s more is that I can’t seem to get rid of it.  I know, that I know, that I know, that I know, That I KNOW, this is not God trying to tell me my husband is cheating on me.  Been there, done that, with hubby No. One.
No, He has some other message buried in this tune.

When you left me all alone at the record hop
Told me you were goin’ out for a soda pop
You were gone for quite a while, half an hour or more
You came back and man oh man this is what I saw

Lipstick on you collar told a tale on you
Lipstick on you collar said you were untrue
Bet your bottom dollar you and I are through
Cuz lipstick on you collar told a tale on you, yeah

You said it belonged to me, made me stop and think
Then I noticed yours was red, mine was baby pink
Who walked in but Mary Jane, lipstick all a mess
Were you smoochin’ my best friend, if the answer’s yes

Lipstick on you collar told a tale on you
Lipstick on you collar said you were untrue
Bet your bottom dollar you and I are through
Cuz lipstick on you collar told a tale on you, boy

Told a tale on you, man

I have no idea at this point just what the message is.

I could force a meaning such as,  “Many times God compares His relationship with us to a marriage and we tend to go astray and be untrue to Him and how our sin will always find us out, it will leave a mark on us.”  All that is true, but I’m not sure that’s the point of this song.

Maybe, this is God’s sense of humor, and He’s playing an April Fools joke on me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Morning Song

Leave a Reply

