Living on the Edge

The Friday before Daylight Savings messed with our internal clocks, I woke with an unusual song in my head.  Trying to be true to this experiment I wrote down exactly what I was hearing.  I was shocked when I looked up the lyrics.  It was more “spiritual” than I had originally thought.  I did not come back that night and add a note about what happened that day.  But I do want to share with you the song and my thoughts on what I think God was trying to tell me through it that day. 

There’s somethin’ wrong with the world today
I don’t know what it is
Something’s wrong with our eyes

We’re seeing things in a different way
And God knows it ain’t His
It sure ain’t no surprise

We’re livin’ on the edge
We’re livin’ on the edge
We’re livin’ on the edge
We’re livin’ on the edge

There’s somethin’ wrong with the world today
The light bulb’s gettin’ dim
There’s meltdown in the sky

If you can judge a wise man
By the color of his skin
Then mister you’re a better man than I

We’re livin’ on the edge
You can’t help yourself from fallin’
Livin’ on the edge
You can’t help yourself at all
Livin’ on the edge
You can’t stop yourself from fallin’
Livin’ on the edge

Tell me what you think about your sit-u-a-tion
Complication – aggravation
Is getting to you

If chicken little tells you that the sky is fallin’
Even if it wasn’t would you still come crawlin’
Back again?
I bet you would my friend
Again & again & again & again & again

(solo)

Tell me what you think about your sit-u-a-tion
Complication – aggravation
Is getting to you

If chicken little tells you that the sky is fallin’
Even if it was would you still come crawlin’
Back again?
I bet you would my friend
Again & again & again & again

There’s something right with the world today
And everybody knows it’s wrong
But we can tell ’em no or we could let it go
But I would rather be a hanging on

Livin’ On the Edge
You can’t help yourself from fallin’
Livin’ On the Edge
You can’t help yourself at all
Livin’ On the Edge
You can’t stop yourself from fallin’
Livin’ On the Edge
Livin’ On the Edge
Livin’ On the Edge
Livin’ On the Edge
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah
(repeat)

God can use anyone to get His message across.  Just look at Numbers 22:21-35. God used a donkey to get through to Balaam.  If He can make a donkey speak His words, I have no doubt he can use Aerosmith.  They are right, there is something wrong with the world today.  We aren’t seeing things Gods way, Isaiah 55:9 states,  “as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than you ways and my thoughts than you thoughts”

Christ said in John 3:3 “I tell you the truth, no one can see the kingdom of God unless he is born again.”  The blind know they aren’t seeing clearly, yet they are unable to heal themselves.  Just as this song states, “You can’t help yourself from falling.”  Even the lost can know that they can’t see and can feel the edge they are about to go over, but they are unable to help themselves from falling.

Praise God that we know The One who can save us.

“There’s something right with the world today, and everybody knows it’s wrong.”  Sounds very similar to Isaiah 5: 20, “Woe to those who call evil good and good evil,”  I see that all over the place.  Not only are our thoughts below God’s but we are looking at them upside down.

Lord, show me Your ways, Your thoughts, let me see Your kingdom in my life and help me to call good “good” and evil “evil.  Help me be a light for the lost, to show them the way away from the edge to You that they might not fall.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

