Chasing the Wind

I didn’t really pay attention to what was running through my head this morning, until I finished my Bible study this morning.  I’m running on about 5 hours sleep and I’m a girl who really needs 7 to function.  So if I ramble, I’m sorry, not enough coffee yet this morning. 

As I was putting my Bible study away (Beth Moore, Living beyond yourself, exploring the fruit of the Spirit) I realized this song was going through my head.  At first I thought it was because the lesson today was in the book of Ecclesiastes, The whole “blowing in the wind” thing.  But then it hit me (remember not enough coffee yet) I was singing this in my head as I made my coffee this morning. coincidence?
I think not.

Blowing in the Wind
Bob Dylan

How many roads must a man walk down,
before you call him a man?
How many seas must a white dove fly,
before she sleeps in the sand?
And how many times must a cannon ball fly,
before they’re forever banned?

The answer my friend is blowing in the wind,
the answer is blowing in the wind.

How many years can a mountain exist,
before it is washed to the sea?
How many years can some people exist,
before they’re allowed to be free?
And how many times can a man turn his head,
and pretend that he just doesn’t see?

The answer my friend is blowing in the wind,
the answer is blowing in the wind.

How many times must a man look up,
before he sees the sky?
And how many ears must one man have,
before he can hear people cry ?
And how many deaths will it take till we know,
that too many people have died?

The answer my friend is blowing in the wind,
the answer is blowing in the wind.

The answer my friend is blowing in the wind,
the answer is blowing in the wind.

Ecclesiastes uses the phrase “chasing the wind”  which is what I seem to hear Dylan advocating.  Solomon in chapter 1 verses 16-18 talks about seeking wisdom, seeking understanding but learned this too was like “chaising the wind”

Ecclesiastes starts out with

“Meaningless! Meaningless! says the Teacher
Utterly meaningless!  Everything is meaningless

He decides that everything man strives for is meaningless, you can’t take it with you.

In the end his conclusion is..

“Fear God and keep his commandments
for this is the whole duty of man
For God will bring every deed into judgement
including every hidden thing
whether it is good or evil.”

And really, isn’t that the answer to all of Bob’s questions above.  Fear God.  We may never know the answers to the questions, but I know who does.  He may not choose to share them with me.  Chase God, not answers.  Chase God, not the wind.

Leave a comment

Filed under Morning Song

Leave a Reply

