Uniquely Male

I woke up this morning with the song Lead Me by Sanctus Real running through my head.

***WARNING***

What you are about to read

may be considered offensive to some

This will NOT be politically correct.


I think the feminist movement did a lot of damage to us.  I did warn you.  Don’t get me wrong, I firmly believe in equal pay for equal work, equal opportunity. I agree with womans rights to freedom, make choices, and do what she wants to do.  However, there has been a plethora of unintended (at least I pray they were unintended) consequences.  Take for one the definition of equal.  Equal does not mean “the same”, only in math must equal be the same.  Out here in the gender wars equal can be very different.  Yet we have tried to force sameness on everyone.

I choose to stay home.  I know some women who would love to stay home but can’t.  I know some women who would rather have a daily root canal than not go to work in their chosen field.  Are we all equal?  YES!  Are we the same?  NO!

I think what I object to the most out of the whole feminist movement is the emasculation of the male.  They fought so hard to be considered equal, then the fight turned to “We are woman, hear us roar” and the impression that was given was not of equality but of superiority.  A song from the 70’s comes to mind.

“I can bring home the bacon

Fry it up in a pan,”

The next line says “And never let you forget you’re a man”  with a heavy sexual tone. However, that in itself is demeaning to men.  It implies that sex is all they are needed for.  And we now have a generation of men who believe that lie.

Watch just about any sit-com or really any show or movie and what you see is men portrayed as one more child the wife is responsible for.   It tears my heart, as a mother of a son, to think of how his unique qualities of maleness will be squelched, how he will be told to embrace his femininity, and hide his masculinity.  I pray that his father and I are able to counter that cultural voice with a Godly voice of how to be the Man of God that God made him to be.

Again, it’s all in how definitions have changed.  Masculinity has taken on a negative connotation.  It has been portrayed as brute force, dumb jock, insensitive clod. Yet when I think of masculinity, I see Christ.  Not the mousey, puny, weakling that some portray Him to be, but the carpenter (think construction work), strong, fully God yet fully man, power held in control Messiah.

We are facing a crisis of manhood.  Fathers abandoning their children. Husbands present physically and financially, but not emotionally. Or the opposite, so emotionally raw themselves they are unable to provide emotional security for their family.  Men, in their maleness, are a necessary part of society.

I, as a wife, want my husband to have an opinion, about everything, and not just the same as mine.

I do not want a “Yes, Dear” robot that just hands me a check and goes and watches sports.

I want a man who engages with his children, helps to care for them, to raise them up into productive members of society (that’s a whole ‘nother rant) even if he does things different from how I would.  And he does, very different.

But that is good.

Different is good, God made us male and female and I don’t think he was only talking about our reproductive equipment.

I think this may turn into a series.  There is so much more to say and I’d like to do some study into gender roles in the Bible, history, and society.  But for today, I hope I made you think, evaluate your definitions, your view of the world around you.

I know this would offend some people, but I’m getting really tired of not being able to have an open and honest discussion about some world views simply because “someone” might take offense.  We can not take every thing offensive out of society, hard as we try (again, whole different rant) but it’s not possible.  I have two favorite quotes.  I don’t know who said either one, but they were right on target with truth.

“You can please some of the people all of the time,

You can please all of the people some of the time,

But, you can’t please all of the people all of the time.”

Yet we try, that’s what P.C. is all about, trying to please all of the people all of the time, don’t offend anyone.  Can’t be done!

I also like,

“A man convinced against his will, is of the same opinion still”

I can’t argue my way to everyone believing as I do, and that’s okay.  Back to “Different is Good!”  We can agree to disagree, agreeably.  I’d rather have that than pretending to all agree with each other.

Tolerance.  Another redefined word.

Get ready, I see a lot of off-shoot posts coming.

1 Comment

Filed under Leadership

One response to “Uniquely Male

  1. In this world there is always danger for those who are afraid of it.

Leave a Reply

