Songs that are speaking to me today

I bought two MP3 albums this week.  John Mark McMillan “The Medicine” and Mandisa “What if we were real”.  Both albums have really been speaking to me.

I woke up to Belly of the Lion running through my head, or the chorus at least.  I’ve had a week of “days like these” this week.  Although today I’m happy to see the sun.

Mandisa’s whole album is really speaking to me.  The title song and the one I’ve posted below, “The truth about me” .  How different would our days be if we truly believed what God said about us.

Belly of the Lion

John Mark McMillan

Dance the dance
We call living and dying
In the valley of the city
in the belly of the lion
Work all week long
All week long
You can lose your soul
In the concrete riverbeds
Rolling with the flow
Of the currents of the walking dead
Five comes and you’re a rolling stone

(chorus)

Days like these
We’ve got nothing to sing about
Days like these
I don’t know what I think about
Day like these
Who would’ve known
Days like these
I’ve got nothing to sing about
Days like these
I don’t know what I think about
Day like these
Who would’ve known

Listen to the rhythm
Of the pawn shop shore
Got you falling off your hinges
Like that old screen porch
It’s the interstate slipping in your pores again
You can ride the vein
From the corner store to Amsterdam
You can bleed the train
From the courthouse to the Vatican
But Friday she’s a ghost
And gonna slip right through your hands again

(chorus)

So dance the dance
We call living and dying
In the valley of the city
in the belly of the lion
We work all week long
All week long
You can lose your soul
In the concrete riverbeds
Rolling with the flow
Of the currents of the walking dead
Five comes and you’re a rolling stone

(chorus)

The Truth About Me 

Mandisa

If only i could see me as you see me
and understand the way that i am loved,
would it give a whole new meaning to my purpose,
change the way i see the world,
would i sparkle like a star in the night sky,
would i give a little more instead of take,
if i understood im precious like a diamond of a worth no one could estimate, of a worth no one could estimate,

you say lovely, i say broken,
i say guilty, you say forgiven,
i feel lonely, say you’re with me,
we both know it would change everything if only i believed the truth about me,

i wish i could hold on to the moments when my life is spinning but im peaceful still
like a wind you whisper in the silence,
and tell me things this world never will,
you tell me things this world never will,

you say lovely, i say broken,
i say guilty, you say forgiven,
i feel lonely, say you’re with me,
we both know it would change everything if only i believed the truth about me,

i would sleep better at night,
wake up with hope for another day,
i would love even if it cost me,
take a chance and know i’m gonna be okay,
i would dare to give my life away,

oooohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh,

i feel lonely, say you’re with me,
we both know it would change everything if only i believed, if only i believed the truth about me,

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

